the sleep of an insomniac .
26.01.04 @ 11:14 p.m.

i can see you
i don;t even know you
falling into the sheets at night
place my hands flat on my chest
i feel the heartbeat back the night
i;ve tried counting the sheep
& i talk to the shepherd
& played with my pillow forever, ever
i sit alone & i watch the clock
i breathe in on the tick
& out on the tock

i can hear yr bare feet on the kitchen floor
i don;t have to have these dreams no more
& i found someone just to hold me tight
hold the insomniac all night

i dig my head down deep
so i can;t hear the cars
outside on the street
& the stars are laughing
they get a kick out of my misery
i;ve tried everything short of aristotle
took dramamine & a whiskey bottle
pray for the day when my ship comes in
& i can sleep the sleep of the dreamless
again.

hold the insomniac all night.

hold me & keep on holding me
won;t you hold me & keep on holding me
keep
on ..

music: les miserables; on my own
mood: tired & perky

back + forth