go ahead without me (i;ll find my own way)
09.01.04 @ 9:17 p.m.

there used to be a time when we held the world.
wrapped 'round our finger tips
laughing at what others missed. someday, yesterday
the magic we felt went away.
grow up, somebody said .. tell me where it;s gone
so i can go find it now. i can;t live yr way.
go ahead without me.
i;ll find my own way

some people fly .. & some of us worry about touching
the sun with wings. i know if i try, i;ll get where i;m going,
keeping my eyes on the sky.

the box you live in is strong & it;s up to you
to see beyond the comfort zone you;ve grown to love.
there;s more to life than that. the expectations
that you hold will keep you down & make you old
if you can;t see what i;m trying to say, maybe you just
need to wear my shoes for awhile.

some people fly .. & some of us worry
i;d risk it all to have wings.

while you sit there & think about it, there;s another
unfolding their wings. i can tell you what it;s like, but,
until you try, you;ll never see what i mean.
& the retired never knew that wings are retractable.

just look straight ahead, & keep yr eyes on the sky.

music: semisonic; never you mind
mood: determined

back + forth